The Small Battles

The David and Goliath story has become one of my favorites over the last year.

Goliath was a giant champion from the Philistine camp who were in a war with the Israelites. Goliath challenged the Israelites by saying that if they produced a warrior who could kill him, then the Philistines would be their servant. If Goliath killed the Israelite warrior, then the Israelites would be their servants. Everyday he came out and taunted the Israelites.

David was the youngest of 8 sons. He was in charge of watching sheep. He was not seen as a warrior or someone to be afraid of. His oldest brothers were some of the warriors in the Israelite army and were among those facing Goliath. One day David went out to greet his brothers and heard the challenge that Goliath was offering the Israelites. David’s response to this seems kind of sarcastic: “What shall be done for the man who kills this Philistine and takes away the reproach from Israel? For who is this uncircumcised Philistine, that he should defy the armies of the Living God?” 

David’s like “Who the heck does this guy think he is?” images

When King Saul hears of David’s words and probably attitude, he sends for him and David tells Saul that he will go and fight the giant.

Saul’s response is one that most of us have heard at least once or twice in our lives.

“… You are not able to go against this Philistine to fight with him, for you are but a youth, and he has been a man of war since his youth.”

David’s response is my favorite.

He says, “Your servant used to keep sheep for his father. And when there came a lion, or a bear, and took a lamb from the flock, I went after him and struck him and delivered it out of his mouth. And if he rose against me, I caught him by his beard and struck him and killed him. Your servant has struck down both lions and bears, and this circumcised Philistine shall be like one of them, for he has defiled the armies of the Living God. The Lord  who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.”

See what Saul hadn’t realized was that David had been fighting his own battles. God had been preparing him for this. He encountered bears and lions and fought them with his own hands, and that built confidence, not only in himself, but in the Living God that he served.

I have never looked at myself as a warrior. Not ever. In fact, I always saw myself as the opposite. Weak. As a teenager and young adult I ran from everything. I ran from pain and confrontation. I ran from real relationships. I didn’t feel like a warrior. Whatever the opposite of warrior is, that’s what I’ve always seen myself as.

And now through this story, I’m hearing God say something different.

Jessica, you are a warrior. You have been a warrior since youth. You have been fighting battles that no one has seen. I have delivered you from the paws of lions and bears and it’s all been in preparation for a Goliath moment. You are strong, daughter. You’ve got fight in you. 

I’m finding myself in places that require some serious faith. The kind of faith that could literally, move mountains. And God has been speaking this over me again and again. Goliath may have been man of war since youth, but so was David. 

Don’t negate the small battles that you have fought. They are the training ground for something big that might come your way. They are where you see God’s faithfulness. Those battles, and the God who delivered you from them, are going to empower you to fight for what you’re believing for. Those battles are how we know that we can walk up to our Goliath with no fear.

“Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or tremble in dread before them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not fail you or abandon you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

Spoiler Alert: David Kills Goliath.

The bible says that Goliath came out to meet David and that David “…ran quickly toward the battle line to meet the Philistine.” Quick side note: Chances are, when you realize that God is going to go with you into battle, you’re going to run toward them. No fear. iphone-emoji-tumblr-Bue5RK-clipart

David launches a stone into Goliath’s forehead and knocks him to the ground. He ends up taking Goliath’s sword to cut off his head.

My family is facing quite a Goliath season right now. There are health issues happening that are scary and while I can’t speak for the rest of them, I know that the enemy is trying really hard to plant fear inside my head. To convince me that I can’t handle this.

“Run. Run from this, pull away. Don’t get close. You know how much this hurts. Build that wall around your heart higher… trust me, the pain won’t be as bad,” he says. 

But see, I’ve been a warrior since my youth. What God has been cultivating in me is not going to go to waste. Now is when I fight. God is not going to abandon me. He is going to fight for me and with me, to slay Goliath.

What is your Goliath moment right now? Take a moment to reflect on the small battles that you have faced. Recognize God’s faithfulness and draw from that to run into your Goliath. Our great God is not going to let you go without him. He’s going to back you up. Don’t be afraid.

Maybe you don’t have a Goliath moment right now. Maybe it’s the everyday small battles that you are facing. Don’t belittle those. They are your training ground. Draw on God’s strength and push through. He won’t disappoint.

 

 

Leave a Reply

