Hello 29.

If I could go back in time (which I wish I could do quiet often), I might go back and tell my 12 and 15 and even 18 year old self to think more about the future. To really think about where she would be at almost 30.

I don’t really remember ever thinking about what being 29 would be like.

But 29 is here… and what do I think? Well, I had a little freak out with Kayla last night about the anxieties of being 29 and all the things that I haven’t accomplished in my life. She talked me down and brought me back to reality and then this morning before I even had a chance to brush my teeth, God decided that I needed another little bit of encouragement for the day. I got a screen shot from my sister from another mister, Sharon of a devotion for January 11. This is what it said:

File Jan 11

Honestly, it was the best thing for me to read today.

I had lunch yesterday with a bunch of my favorite people and I made a point to stop for a moment and really take in my surroundings. And you know what I realized? That I am surrounded by an amazing group of people. And then tonight I had dinner with my mom, Mike and my cousins and I realized that same thing. I am so lucky to be surrounded by wise, loving people. These people speak into my life in a bunch of different ways. They make me laugh (which might be one of my favorite things to do) and are always there when I need them. I am just so dang lucky. No gifts could compare with their presence in my life.

Tonight, I climbed in bed, grabbed my bible, journal and my laptop for some worship music and began to reflect on today and to dream about what this year will look like for me. The song “You Know Me” by Steffany Gretzinger came on and I began to pray and ask God what he thought… He began to show me the delivery room where I was born…In all of the chaos and excitement of a new life being brought into the world, he was there. He watched as I was born and he smiled with the knowledge of the plans that he had for me. And he began to tell me how that smile has not changed. Not one bit. Each morning as I rise with a new day, that same smile greets me. The desires that I cry out to him for are not lost to him. He knows them better than I do, and each day is another day closer to each of those things.

His love…. I’ll never understand it. But I’m so grateful for it. And I will forever praise him for it.

I’m excited for 29. The last year of my 20’s. Bring it.

Thank you to EVERYONE who texted me or Facebook’d me to say happy birthday today.

3 thoughts on “Hello 29.

  1. Gosh, I just love you. These revelations you’re having in this pivotal time in your life is making me (selfishly) miss you more!!!! Which I didn’t think was possible!
    I truly look up to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Girl that made me cry because God showed me one time on my bday when I was born and how he was there too. He is so good! His love is perfect for us! And might I add we have the best husband of all! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

